The Time of Our Lives?


First of all, let’s agree that ANY attempt to remake Dirty Dancing is Wrong Wrong Wrong. I won’t be watching it and if you have a soul, neither will you.

But secondly, let’s talk about recreating the finale of Dirty Dancing at your wedding. This is a real thing. This happens. People do this. The only reason I know is because I just watched an episode of the UK budget reality-ish TV show The Wedding House and that actually happened.

Then I googled “TV, wedding, Dirty Dancing, Wedding House” just to make sure I wasn’t having an epi and low and behold; I could find the one I had just watched, but I found heaps of others. Spooky.

Anyway, here’s a couple called Julia and James doing just what it says on the tin. I’m not sure whether I think it is totally, massively awesome or hugely retarded.

The postscript to this story is that the couple involved appeared to be the only ones to do it on the internet at the time (or the only good ones) and so they were invited onto Oprah to re-enact it and then Patrick Swayze turned up and jumped in on the action and the whole thing is totally Not Fair to anyone who was born in the 70s and was a girl.

So: Brilliant or Shit? You tell me. I’m conflicted. However I will say that I attempted “the lift” once (three times) in the kitchen of a very fancy hotel in Edinburgh, New Year’s Eve circa 1998. I’ve said this before, learn the lesson: move on).

This what the couple said about their Youtube video:

This is our first dance at our wedding…it seems to have taken the world by storm! You can check out our new baby blog at www.icarriedawatermelon.co.uk.

 I don’t know whether to laugh or cry or throw something at the computer. Maybe I’ll do all three. One of them has to work.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Time of Our Lives?

  1. kate says:

    It IS impossibly lame but it also looks, oh kill me now, kind of fun and funny. At least they don’t look like they’re taking it too seriously. I must confess I laughed when the synchronised dancing started. Also we must watch Dirty Dancing again.

Leave a Reply

