Christmas? Bah Humbug


* This is not a reindeer. This is not Christmas.

Not really. I Love Christmas. I Love Love Love Love Christmas. But not in Australia. Santa does not live here and, in any case, I’ll be spending Christmas (and Boxing Day and many days after) working. My family ain’t here and it’s not snowing. So I’ll be drinking expensive champagne with the cat on the 25th. And then going to work at some stupid hour the next day. Bah Humbug.

In any case, a friend suggested I watch some Christmas movies. Seeing as it’s such a non-event this year, I think it would only make me weep into my expensive champagne, HOWEVER. I LOVE Christmas movies (usually).

Here are my Top Five Xmas Movies That Feature Snow and Other Xmas Things You Don’t Get In Australia That Make it Actually Christmas:

1. Love Actually

So, I usually fast forward the bits where Hugh Grant is pretending to be the PM, but it’s still a Massively Awesome Movie (and one of the only mainstream you will ever see me admitting to liking…)

2. It’s a Wonderful Life

James Stewart reminds me of my grandfather. I’m not sure why. My mother insists we watch this every time I am home for Christmas. Love love love. “Every time a bell rings, an angel gets its wings”. Ultimate, classic, feel the Christmas Love (after the despair).

3. A Muppet Christmas Carol

What’s not to fucking like?

4. Miracle on 34th Street.

Not the remake, the original, fools.

5. The Grinch that Stole Christmas

Saving the best til last. Massively Fucking Awesome. Dr Seuss; the best kind of nutbar.

MERRY BLOODY CHRISTMAS, K?

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

