On Writing


Some things from some people what wrote. And some other things.

L’appetit vient en manger: “Appetite comes with eating” – a French proverb I think, but true of writing….

If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.  ~Toni Morrison

Writing became such a process of discovery that I couldn’t wait to get to work in the morning:  I wanted to know what I was going to say.  ~Sharon O’Brien

Writing is a struggle against silence.  ~Carlos Fuentes

I write because I’m afraid to say some things out loud.  ~Gordon Atkinson

I hate writing, I love having written.  ~Dorothy Parker, may not be exact wording

Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness.  One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.  ~George Orwell, “Why I Write,” 1947

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

