Dentists Do Not Make Good Love Advice


So I got my first ever filling at the dentist the other day. Let’s not talk about how I spent the rest of the day looking like I had Bell’s Palsy and dribbling out of my mouth because I told the dentist I was scared and she gave me about three times more anaesthetic than I required.

Also, the reason I needed the filling is because I’d cracked my wisdom tooth because I clench my jaw all the fricking time, especially when I’m stressed (which is a lot) and I probably also grind my teeth at night.

Dentist: So, if you have someone you sleep in bed with, they could tell you if you grind your teeth at night…

Me: (mouth open, drilling happening) Mmmnnnnnnnnn….

Dentist: Because they are usually the first ones to know. So if you do have someone that, um, sleeps in your bed, then you should ask them.

Me: (mouth open, more drilling) Mmmmmnnnnn……

Dentist: Or if you could ask someone who sometimes sleeps with you, that would also work. Or you could ask someone to spend the night with you and they could tell you.

Me:  (mouth open, more drilling) Mmmmmnnnnn……(in my head.. Are you Fucking Serious?? I should sleep with someone so they can tell I have Bruxism? That has got to be the Worst Dating Advice Ever.)

Mmmmmmmmnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

