Lucky as All Hell: Update on the Dastardly Novel


I’m actually super super lucky. As of the last count I have: a real, published, successful and lovely romance author who wants to mentor me, a graphic designer who will do my cover art, a media campaign manager who will make people buy my book, an historical consultant who will make sure I don’t fuck basic things up, an editor – Kato – and a beta reader.

I’m also pretty shit hot at grammar and have at least half a dozen word-nazi/continuity experts at my disposal, who will presumably tell me I’ve changed the bloody colour of the heroine’s eyes twice, the names don’t make sense and how can the hero have possibly been engaged in that particular battle because he was, like, 10 at the time and you cannot count you muppet.

In other news, just re-read two of a Very Popular Medieval Romance Author’s books and realised they are actually a bit shit and make little to no sense, despite her being quite high on the Amazon Kindle list, which made me feel a bit better. I’ve realised the devil is in the detail and fuck me dead this endeavour is in no way as easy as I presumed it would be. My book will not be brilliant. But if it is not half bad within the genre then I will be chuffed to the gills. I’m 1500 words shy of 50,000w and if the fucking cat would stop walking over my laptop and adding “hnfcormf0q8wyef” then the process might be easier.

In other news, I’ve got a bit of a crush on Usain Bolt. What a totally brill-amentay human being.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

