Fucking Misogyny


Just from re-watching this video, I’m even more impressed than I was the first few times. Australian PM isn’t just mad, she’s bloody well on fire. She has taken hit after sexist goddamn hit and now, she’s had it.

I hope and believe I speak for many women in Australia when I say this speech is basically fucking awesome.

I’m not particularly a fan of what the Labor Party has achieved, done, fucked up, reneged on, but this bit almost made my heart burst. Never before has a female PM, anywhere, ever, stood up and said “fuck you and your anti-woman bullshit. And fuck you for attacking me on a personal level because I am a woman and not married and don’t have kids. And fuck you for your horrible attitude to women in general, which I will detail now in Parliament using things you have actually said over the years about ladies.”

She is mad as hell. She is mad for herself, for me, for all the lady-people who have to put up with bullshit from that lovely section of dickhead misogynistic men who silently still refer to the female persuasion as “the weaker sex”.

I love that she’s so mad. That she never pauses. hat Abbott’s face looks like a slightly melted Madame Tussaud’s figure (but more uncomfortable). She is on FUCKING FIRE and I love it.

“I will not be lectured on sexism and misogyny by that man”

No, PM, and neither will I. Until Abbott is regularly sexually harassed walking down the road, finds out he gets paid shitloads less than his female counterparts, is villified and ridiculed for not being married or having pro-created (fuck, how easy is that? look, it’s harder NOT to procreate) be scared in his own house or street, have someone rape or attempt to rape him, not get a job cos he’s in his 30s and the man interviewing you assumes he’ll get up the duff and not give him a job, be told to ‘shut up’ by a taxi driver because of his gender, have his wardrobe, physique and general appearance analysed all the goddamn time and a million other things I can’t be arsed typing out because I’m tired and somewhat drunk. Until then, Abbott, please do STFU about teh Ladeez. There’s nothing worse than a dog telling a cat how it feels.

That’s not to say men cannot in many ways comprehend, sympathise or move to alter any of the above. There are many lovely men who do. You, Sir, are just not one of them.

You’ve got a bunch of daughters. Well done. Please stop talking about how ‘precious’ their virginity is to Women’s Day magazine. My Dad is a man’s man. Possibly a bit sexist. He wanted sons; he got two daughters. He’s in his 60s but if I told him I didn’t get a job because I was a woman or that I’d been in some way discriminated against, he’d go fucking postal. Despite all, he has spent a lot of his life making sure his daughters are independent, have all the opportunities afforded to both genders and make our ways in this life. He’d be mad as fuck if something shit happened to us because we were ladeez, not men.

So Abbott – STHU. Now let’s see that video again.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

