I May Be A Massive Musical Twat but I Really Don’t Know Shit


……because, although I’m shit at knowing shit about music, I know what I like. I like a bit of opera. I know very little, but for some reason, my mother installed a love of Verdi in me at a very young age (she speaks Italian. And no, she’s not Italian) and more specifically, La Traviata.

La Traviata was the first opera I had ever seen. It was referenced in the first play I was ever in (The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie). I love it. It is probably the only opera I have ever had on my iPod and moves me to tears. I love the story (Violetta is a courtesan, but basically a lush, like a few of us) father disapproves, lots of Italian duelling singing, a misunderstanding, she dies of consumption without Alfredo being able to tell her he loves her. *sadface* Yet the music is unlike anything I have ever heard. It is moving, uplifting, sad beyond belief. I have actually requested of my family that Prelude to act II is played at my funeral

Look, I’m not ruining the story, this is no spoiler, a bit like the time my (arts lit) housemate during uni and I put on Titanic (it WAS THE 90s, stop judging me) and talked about what happened in the end and our two other housemates (studying chemistry and physics, respectively, one of whom was in Mensa, I KID YOU NOT) yelled at us to “not spoil the ending” of the film. Then I was a bit sad and then glad I was shit at maths because maybe it made me better at life. And I at least knew the Titanic sunk in the stupid end. And Violetta dies, as is in all good Italian opera.

But the music is sublime. And the opera here in P-Town in April. A bit like if Hedda Gabbler or Huis Clos came here or if they did Les Mis again, I’d start selling my shit off at the Melville markets to make the ticket price. Oh, did I not tell you? I’m fucking broke as a motherfucker. But I’d rather spend my money on this than on anything else (except gin), I’d rather see these things. Is life about a slap up meal or a fucking amazing experience? actually, make that a sandwich and a coffee. It is Perth. Cheaper to go out and see artistic stuff than have lunch in your local cafe. Seriously: YAY.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

