Oh FFS Sexist Twat


Appaz women who are a bit hot shouldn’t be journalists according to some fucking no one asshole that I’m not even going to link to because he’s probably had enough hits on his stupid idiotic rant about female journalists and the relationship between their intellect and their hair.

If you’re even mildly hot and you’re a journalist (specifically a TV one), you’re a fucking idiot who should never be in charge of reporting the news because you probably can’t even spell NEWS.

Yeah, try selling that to any chief of staff of any respectable news outlet, ever. “She’s hot but….She doesn’t know shit.” Bull-fucking-bollocks. A face gets you so far. Being in the news industry and not knowing what you’re talking about gets you fired.

So ugly fat old men rule the world and suddenly us ladeez are in trouble for having both brains and looks and the audacity to use both at the Same Fucking Time.

Jesus.

Geoffrey Barker you are a cunt.

But in case you were wondering What The Actual Fuck he was on about, read this article at 3AW here. He was actually allowed to write this shit in The Age. Thanks, The Age and also fuck you because that’s not even filed under fair comment. Check out these snippets:

The Age published this column by Geoffrey Barker today about female television journalists, which he termed “post-pubescent babes” who “pour out of undistinguished universities with mickey-mouse diplomas in media studies”.

“They are fodder for TV newsrooms looking for eye-candy rather than durable journalistic talent that costs money.”

“The curling wand and the make-up box trump the notebook and pencil every time.”

You can read hot looking but actually talented TV journo Tegan Sapwell’s repost here. Newsflash! She is blonde! and has tits! and talks about the news! Fuck! the sky will surely fall down.

Seriously. Ladies! Be Pretty! But don’t be pretty if you want to work in journalism!

I’m so tired of this bullshit. Geoff, fuck the fuck off. I’m a journalist. I have two degrees and speak three(ish) languages. And I’m reasonably easy on the eye, as are many of my colleagues. Nowadays it’s intelligent (possibly hot, with tits) female journos joining the ranks of the Fourth Estate. Whilst I am fond of the men in my office, the hot-to-hot-ratio means the blokes have many more things to look at that are smart and hot and lovely, rather than the COS desk. Being pretty doesn’t mean you’re not smart. If you can’t hack it in this industry then you are fucked off at the soonest instance, even if you look like Barbie.

Journalism, including TV journalism is a hard job. I am stunned that you think for a second that soft-cock, hot-looking ladies with no talent can make it in a dog-eat-dog industry when half of us are being made redundant.

My Dad hates having his Tom Tom address him in a female voice because he hates being given directions by a (disembodied) woman’s voice. And yet he has encouraged my sister and I to pursue higher education, to be independent and to succeed. He’s a bit of a feminist and he doesn’t even know it.

But when he watches the news, he watches the news. To hear the news. I hardly think he cares if it’s read or reported on by some fat old man in a Barbour jacket or a hot young blonde in a mackintosh as the floods rise. He’s interested in the news. As are most people who are interested in the news.

In short, Geoff, you are a troll. And an idiot. What the hell is your actual problem with just seeing and judging people by their individual merits, rather than being a massive sexist twat? I could say I’m tired of seeing old fat grey men telling me my news but I’d be lying. Because I’m actually listening to the Actual Fucking News. Not judging people by their looks, apart from being quite fascinated by Tom Piotrowski’s beard. It is magnificent and amazing. But I still pay attention to his reports on the markets and the dollar.

Geoff, you tire me. You bore me. You’re retired. Write a book about fly-fishing or some terrible self-published memoir and leave us all alone. Your opinions suck shit and are not in the slightest bit valid in today’s cut-throat newsroom. We are losing our jobs like flies and fighting like fuck. Take your pension and fuck the fuck off. Dickhead.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

