Big Smiley Goddamn Teaching Face


Sure, working from home is a little underrated when you have to go to the post office and post things, which I haven’t done since 2009, but hey, it’s not all bad.

Sure, I haven’t actually earned ANY real money since I left my job, but it’s in the…post…as it were. Funnily enough, bits and pieces keep turning up, a bit like the meeting I have tomorrow with potential clients, one of whom has seen me in my pyjamas. And they still want to do business with me. Wow.

I had my second week of tutoring at university yesterday and can I just say quietly, that I ROCKED THE HELL OUT OF IT. Yeah, I made those kids laugh. I facilitated discussions on the war on terror, the coming Federal Election and introduced them to lesser known news values such as “cute animals” “WTF” and “Eewwww” (but told them not to use these examples in any exam or paper).

One chap even emailed me his assignment, asking if I could give him some feedback before the Big Assignment because he wants to do well. He’s also the only one who signed up to Twitter and now follows me. Which is not necessarily a good thing.

I made them bring in newspaper articles that demonstrated news values (and were of interest) and several of them brought in the Gina vs Pennells story, to which I said, oh yeah, he’s my friend, He totally texted me a smiley face today. Harr. What a wanker.

1teach

I’ve learned the phrase “so, what do we think about…..” and at least three of my 30 students’ names. The one I’m slightly scared is at risk of suicide didn’t turn up which worries me. But I’ve got a delightful right-on feminist, a couple of “journalism is a noble profession”-ists, a would-be sports reporter who is great at news, a chap who ONLY watches ABC and SBS an at least six people who have already checked out the ABC’s how to vote/where do you stand thingo app. EVERYONE is my class is registered to vote. I resist trying to influence them.

My last tutorial even hung around for an extra five minutes discussing things. Although I totally fucked them all up by asking a question in the weekly quiz about Mediawatch (which they are supposed to watch but did not) and I gaped at the one student who ‘forgot’ to o the assignment.

All in all these kids are awesome. I’m actually super impressed. They are talented and interested and this makes me happy. Luckily the one who looks like a 90s high school movies star (i.e. too cool, quite handsome and at least 10 years older than everyone else) skipped out on yesterday. He has stare-y eyes and disconcerts me. As does the conspiracy theorist who is very smart but wears sunglasses indoors. Maybe they could swap.

All in all, I’m pretty chuffed. Tutoring is scary. Maybe next week I’ll bring chocolate bribes. And try to remember their names. I KNOW I should have paid more attention during week 1.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

