Trolls: Under the Bridge Downtown…


So, after a delightful email chat with Dr Jill McDevitt (with whom I have never had any personal contact before today), I’m told my lovely comment troll is one Heather (XXXX) – surname removed cos I am nice. I’ve got her email address, of course – she had to plug it in to post her stupid comment. Seems she’s not a man, but someone close to the dickbrain that sent Dr Jill the email in the first place.

Firstly, she has a repertoire that usually consists of calling people Nazis or likening them to Hitler. Get some new music, lady, we’re bored already.

Secondly, she’s appaz a teacher. Of students. Possibly children. Jesus wept.

trolls

I’d suggest that Heather undertake a little bit of history study. You’re a fool, Heather. Learn some new and more eloquent insults and preferably ones that are historically accurate. I hope you are a teacher in name only. Cos I’m sad if you are responsible for the education of children. And you probably deserve reporting to authorities. Just sayin’. Maybe I will and maybe I won’t. How’s that Sword of Damocles working out for you?

Sure, I might sound like a nasty bitch for being so mean to Heather, but let’s be honest; I’ve never called anyone a “sick freak” or a “Nazi” because they wrote something I disagreed with. No, instead I’ve mostly gotten drunk and written some diatribe here. Or formulated what I thought was a reasonable and cutting argument.

I’m not saying people should not express their thoughts and I can’t take any criticism (although mostly, it’s wrong) – I am more than willing to accept when I’ve fucked up. But name-calling and nonsensical comments is not the way to wrangle that out of me.

In this case, I’m right as a right angle. Heather – you’re an idiot. And a spiteful, semi-literate one at that. As well as familiarising yourself with 20th century history and how social media works, Heather, you should also look up the word ‘feminism’ in the dictionary. Yes, I’ve seen your hateful emails and I’ve come to the conclusion that you are as dumb as a post.

The ones where you call someone a “deranged and unhinged lunatic”.

And this: “You threw your parents under a bus.  If I were your parents, I would be embarrassed that you are my child.  How dare you? 

“You remind me of Hitler… you are that militant. 

 “I can only conclude that you are vile and a hindrance to the feminist cause.”

If you’d like to send me a considered rejoinder, I promise to post it here. But in the meantime I suggest you keep your dumb thoughts to yourself. They are not helping anybody. The internet is not anonymous. And neither are you. So maybe think a little bit more carefully before you start spouting off about Nazis and feminism. Sticks and stones, my friend, sticks and stones.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

