It’s World Mental Health Day: Shit be Crazy Y’all


As a card-carrying mentalist, I can only say that dealing with mental illness is the single most difficult thing I’ve ever had to do in my life. It continues to be a daily struggle. It is a quagmire of bullshit, a merry-go-round of fuck.

Let’s not sugar-coat anything here. It is quite simply Awful.

I’ve been so lucky to have loving and supportive friends and family and a workplace that understood, was patient and kind and did so much more than anyone could have asked for. These are the things that keep you going. It’s a terrible strain on all your relationships and the pure terror that the people you love are going to give up on you because you’re a nutbar and they’ve had enough can be excruciating.

If I had a dollar for every time I’d thought about topping myself over the last decade I’d be living in a gite in the South of France and drinking Veuve for breakfast.

So hang in there, people with the craziness. And hang in there, loved ones of the brain-mad. We’re all in this together and life, at the very bottom of it, is too crazy and beautiful to give up on.

kermie

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

