Signs I Am Becoming Old and Angry.


I present you with exhibit A; an email I did in fact write to those charlatans War Force Records Whatever Thieving Gypsies Dot Com. I paid them once, even though they are a bunch of twats. And now their constant barrage of emails, purporting to know something, maybe, about the POW grandfather I’ve been trying to research for the last while (he was captured at the Fall of Singapore, POW for four years, built the Burma Railway etc, I already have all of the primary evidence in a box but was seeking further info) and trying to con myself and others out of teh cashola.

I’m getting grumpy and aggravated in my later years. Sure, 35’s a walk in the park but I find I’m smarter, better informed, more entitled and just plain fucking fed up to take this bullshit. I’m also cynical as hell. No one can melt my cold, cold heart.

So here’s my email:

Dear “Sophie” (sophie@forces-war-records.co.uk) (totally made up)

I have previously subscribed to your War Records library and found it to be incomplete and mostly unhelpful. The fact that companies such as yours are able to charge people to gain the records of their relatives, who are war veterans or prisoners of war, seems incredible to me.

Your constant barrage of emails irritates me beyond belief and if I can find a better (and free) source to find information about my family member who spent four years in a prisoner of war  camp, I will. Please do not contact me again with your unsolicited emails. I am really pretty disgusted that this company (under the guise of the name “Sophie”, as if it is a real person, so cynical and calculating) is able to basically have people hamstrung so the only way they pretty much can get family and archival records is by paying you cash. I’ve done that once, I won’t make the same mistake again.

 Good on you for profiting from families’ grief and their desire to know the fate/history of their loved ones, You are a cynical, money-hungry bunch of tools. I hope you sleep well at night, knowing you are profiting from the dead and somehow, SOMEHOW, ensuring people have little recourse but to pay for your services.

 Please remove me from your email list because you shit me to tears.

Man I’m such a nasty judgmental biatch. But I do pick my battles. At least give me that.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

