The Everyday Sexism Project


Ok, next I will put up some cute cat videos because lord knows, that’s what the internet was made for. But do have a look here – especially if you are a man, or a woman who thinks feminism is stupid.

The Everyday Sexism Project is a pretty good barometer of how far we may or may not have come in a lot of men not being total dicks to women. Hint: not far by a country mile.

You can view this website here.

This is not a man-hating website. I like men. Heaps. I am related to men. I have consensual sex with men. I have male friends. It’s just that most of the shitty, shitty stuff that happens to us lady-people comes at the hands of men. This is incontrovertible FACT.

For most of us the fear is so ingrained that it is second nature. For every example I can recall of when I have been harassed, threatened, intimidated or subject to unwanted male attention I can guarantee you there are three times as more incidents I have forgotten.

I’ve got a motherfucking good sense of humour. I’m not one to get antsy about off-colour jokes. I don’t call HR at the drop of a hat (in fact, I never have, but as I have gotten older, preferred to deal with it myself). I’m not a (Australian word here) wowser. I am not the Fun Police. The things I have said and laughed at whilst working as a journalist would probably shock some people. A good (male) friend joking about my vagina is fine. A stranger doing it is not.

Both myself and every other woman I know has dozens of examples of when we have been denigrated because of our sex, threatened, sexually harassed, faced sexual violence, endured the unthinkable and yet there are many men who cannot, for a second, put themselves in our shoes.

However I must say there are a great deal who can. And those of you – we salute you. Because all the whinging and wailing and bemoaning and complaining and legal action in the world won’t change the predominate culture unless you take part.

Imagine the things mentioned in the Everyday Sexism Project were said/done to your daughter or sister or mother. That’s really the litmus test, isn’t it? Would you be fine with it? Yes? Go directly to GO, do not collect $200. No? Then do something about it, with your own behaviour, that of your friends, colleagues, family and strangers. Call it out when you see and hear it. Help your sisters out. We’re all on this earth together. Let’s make it pleasant and stop the fear.

About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

