Look! #SomeMen Get It!


About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Look! #SomeMen Get It!

  1. Comedians are funny says:

  2. #NotAllComedians…….Are funny. But this one is. She can makes jokes about rape. Behold https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5IoKVHNXmI&list=RDP5IoKVHNXmI

  3. *Sigh*. So a man banging on about women not getting equal pay because TITANIC is funny and another comedian joking about rape is not? Here be the thing; a lot of male comedians (not your example) joke about rape, for example. Most of them are not funny. But jokes about rape CAN be funny (Louis CK does one) when they make fun of the culture or the rapist, rather than the victim. I was trying to show that I have a sense of humour (sorry, bad example, but I do joke and laugh about rape and feminism and shit – when it’s funny). I HAVE A SENSE OF HUMOUR I’M A JOURNALIST I CAN’T HELP IT AND I SWEAR TOO MUCH. But also, the comedian you posted (and I watched a few of his things to give both you and him the benefit of the doubt) is not funny. Not Funny. Not clever. Lowest common denominator stuff, really. There are many comedians (both male and female) who can make successful, funny, intelligent jokes about feminism, rape, women, ovaries, whatever. This guy just ain’t one. I was a fan of Daniel Tosh until his “hey, you know what would be funny? If that woman was gang-raped!” response to someone who shouted out “rape jokes are never funny”. Now I obviously disagree. With both of them. I think all and any subject can be funny, but in the right hands. Again, it’s about taking the piss out of the culture rather than the victim. For the record I still like DT’s comedy. I just want to smash him in his stupid face for that ignorant comment.
    Your example was rubbish and stupid. Sorry, but it was. To equate equal pay with a trite old stereotype is tired and lazy. And this guy is lazy. The best comedy doesn’t completely alienate one group or the other for laughs. It brings people together by being observant, reaffirming some things we know or suspect, challenges ways in which we stereotype, makes us laugh at ourselves, renders the world both terrible and funny at the same time. It doesn’t fuck one group over and belie a real and entrenched prejudice.. It tells us things about ourselves and the world we live in. Compare your chap’s “women want equal pay but Titanic!” to SS’s “Is a rape victim going to complain about rape jokes? No!” (paraphrasing here, clearly).One is a joke that one section of society feels validates their higher hierarchical position in the world. The other takes the piss out of a culture and speaks to everyone. So, have a look at this http://jezebel.com/5925186/how-to-make-a-rape-joke because it will express all I want to say but betterment. Do keep stopping by though, cos I like a bit of brain head-to-head. I’m not being Sarky – I totally mean it. Happy weekend chappie 🙂

    • No but says:

      Having a blog does not make you a journalist although it would assure you a job at one of the hack captital city newspapers…

      • I would have rather thought having two degrees – one a postgrad in journalism – and 10 years’ experience working as a journalist would make me, in fact, a journalist. I’m not sure what part of “I’m a journalist” made you assume I was not one. I don’t consider myself a blogger. I have a blog which effectively operates as a receptacle for my brain-vomit. I don’t advertise it, I don’t try to attract readers. I write it because it pleases me. I approve your comments and respond to them because you took the effort to write and I think it’s polite.

  4. Dearheart, here’s the link as more of a link. Sorry. Techno-loser here… http://jezebel.com/5925186/how-to-make-a-rape-joke

    • Well done says:

      Well done. You have an arts degree and no I would not like fries with that! 10 years experience doing what with your cereal box degree? Writing hack stories for a hack paper like the SMH, Sun or the West? Maybe you reached the heights of writing for TV Guide or Cleo?

      • Oh, Sweetpea. You really know nothing about me, about my education or work history. You very glibly dismiss journalists and journalism as if all any of us has ever done is write the Sidebar of Shame for the Daily Mail. I’m not going to sit here and justify my existence or career to you. If you took the time and left out the lazy, snidey comments we could have a real, proper discussion. I am proud of my profession, my career and my education. I enjoy vigorous and intelligent debate. I also like to swear (which is where this blog comes in). Do you read news? Any news? Your assumptions are insulting, ignorant and plain silly. Sadly I don’t think I can post pictures in the comments section (I will try though) because unless you have anything better than tired old stereotypes and poor reasoning to hand out, I’m going to reply by posting pictures of cats. I pick my battles. You are not one of them.

  5. But hacks earn more than 'real' journalists... says:

    I’m sure you are, and so were parents when they attended your ‘graduation”, but the truth is that you wasted many years and taxpayer dollars studying your degree when we all know that any old hack can walk into a major newspaper and become a journalist by default. I bet the guys that make big bucks writing about sport and get good money (more than you ever got) for their brainless comments about football particularly fuck you right off.

    • Oh Love, what is your actual problem? Why are you so unhappy about this? Once again you’ve made a shitload of assumptions, managed to be rude and also daft as a brush into the bargain.
      Here. Have a cat for effort.
      Cat

  6. Damn. the cat didn’t work. Please imagine a picture of a cat with a noodle box on its head instead.

Leave a Reply

