Say You’ve Missed Me and My Rants. Me Neither


However, lazy is as lazy does so here’s what the quite brilliant Clementine Ford posted on FB the other day and here’s me having it with a guy who should know better. Will be updated as responses come to hand…

Someone sent this to me last night. Done by Ryan Parsons at Black Throne Tattoo in Brisbane. Note the delightful hashtag, location and homophobia. If you check out the picture on Instagram, you can also find a lot of fucking morons defendin See More
Photo: Someone sent this to me last night. Done by Ryan Parsons at Black Throne Tattoo in Brisbane. Note the delightful hashtag, location and homophobia. If you check out the picture on Instagram, you can also find a lot of fucking morons defending it as satire even though they clearly have no fucking idea what satire actually is. 

I was sadly unsurprised to see someone defending Ryan Parsons as just the 'nicest, loveliest guy out there'. Oh, and apparently he adores his 'beautiful girlfriend and daughter'. So, good to know that he makes a distinction between women who deserve respect and women who don't.

 

  • Fahad [redacted]Yeah that’s just disgraceful and in very bad taste.
    Ironic however that I often see gay men depicting women in terrible situations and calling to cut them, burn them or kill them etc… Yet I’ve never seen a gay man told off for that kind of behaviour.
  • Me: Hmmm. I’ve never seen what you describe Fahad, but please do enlighten us with actual examples. Because you’ll find mostly that Clementine Ford and other writers on similar subjects post links to articles, things that actually happened and refer to statistics and verifiable facts. That’s what makes so much of this kind of debate so goddamn irritating; that the people calling out misogyny use facts and reason in their arguments. The ones opposing it fall back on anecdotal evidence, crying poor (#NotAllMen) and basically whinging. If it were tit-for-tat I could accept it. But it’s a bit like climate change. Here Are Facts and science vs Here Is Some Stuff We Think Because We Do. The only robust debate is coming from feminists (male and female). From the other side we’re basically getting “I know you are you said you are but what am I?” and some dick jokes. Let’s say, for argument’s sake that perhaps 5% of gay men did as you suggest above, or even 10% but I doubt it (and I’d like evidence please) – the very unscientific me would suggest that that percentage of straight men doing the same is higher than Rihanna on a school night. As always, I’m more than willing to be proved wrong. But with facts. And evidence. And statistics. So go for it.
About ohhellwhatthehell

I like gin, mittens and otters, not necessarily in that order. Here's some stuff I felt like writing down when I'm not chained to a desk writing other things for a living. Please use caution when using this site; there may be sweary words, cute animals and general bullshit. Don't say I didn't fucking warn you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

